Home > Live Recording > Naked Raygun: Live At The VFW#18 in KC, MO Aug 11, 1984

Naked Raygun: Live At The VFW#18 in KC, MO Aug 11, 1984

December 17th, 2008 Leave a comment Go to comments

Note: Originally posted on Scar Stuff, 2/22/06

This is a live recording from the first time (of what would eventually be many times) that I ever saw Naked Raygun, and it’s fair to say that they blew me away. I’d only heard the “Flammable Solid” single and a few tracks off the “Code Blue” tape at this point, and I guess I really didn’t know what else to expect (though I certainly DID expect “Surf Combat” — when it starts you can hear my friend Larry shouting “YEAAAH!” and then turning to me with a “Let’s go!” right before we ran into “the pit”). I knew there was a Big Black connection, but (aside from THEIR track on “Code Blue”) had mostly only heard “Steelworker” by them a few times on my local college station & that was little help.

Naked Raygun were opening here for Iron Cross (also recorded, check it out here), and were added to the show a little late — effectively filling in for Heart Attack who had cancelled. Few people in the crowd seemed to know who they were, but they did two short sets (sadly during the second one my tape runs out before “New Dreams” is over) and everyone I talked to walked away really impressed. In retrospect this was something of a transition point for them (I’m told by my friend Randy that “everything off of Basement Screams was pretty much dropped from their live performances about a year later with the exception of the occasional inclusion of Potential Rapist”), but mostly what I can tell you is that I was sorta shocked when they pulled a sax out for a few songs (hey, I was 15 and still really just a hardcore kid for the most part). By the way, what you’re not hearing here is the totally crummy interview I did with them after the show for my zine Room 101. Even at the time I knew it was bad, and I didn’t even run it. You’ll live.

Though Naked Raygun’s name isn’t on it, here’s the only flyer I have left that mentions the show:

Click to enlarge

Naked Raygun: Live At The VFW#18 in KC, MO Aug 11, 1984 (192 kbps)
01 Knock Me Down (2:58)
02 I Don’t Know (3:09)
03 Home Of The Brave (2:18)
04 Mofo (1:53)
05 Stupid (1:23)
06 No Sex (1:56)
07 Surf Combat 1:18)
08 Metastasis (2:25)
09 Gear (2:33)
10 The Strip (2:16)
11 Bomb Shelter (0:52)
12 Tojo (3:00)
13 Swingo (2:50)
14 Only In America (3:18)
15 Managua (4:23)
16 Rat Patrol (2:00)
17 Potential Rapist (5:18)
18 Dog At Large (2:31)
19 New Dreams (Incomplete) (1:02)